Research Repository

University Crest

The Plenary Council and Canon Law

Waters, Ian B. (2018) The Plenary Council and Canon Law. Australasian Catholic Record, 95 (4). pp. 399-411. ISSN 0727-3215

Full text not available from this repository.


The Australian hierarchy was established by Pope Gregory XVI in 1842. Since then, there have been six national Catholic councils held in Australia. The first two, celebrated in 1844 and 1869, are known as the First Provincial Council of Australia and the Second Provincial Council of Australia, as until 1874 the Australian dioceses were all in the one ecclesiastical province with Sydney being the sole metropolitan see. In 1874, a second province - Melbourne - was established, and the national councils since then - four of them, celebrated in 1885, 1895, 1905 and 1937 - have been called plenary councils, the term used in the Catholic Church in recent centuries for councils whose participants are from more than one ecclesiastical province; in the past, terms such as regional councils or national councils have been used. As we all know, another plenary council for Australia is planned to commence in 2020.

Item Type: Published Articles
Repository Version: Metadata Only
Keywords: Catholic Council, Canon Law
Fields of Research: 22 Philosophy and Religious Studies > 2204 Religion and Religious Studies > 220401 Christian Studies (incl. Biblical Studies and Church History)
Socio-Economic Objective: E Expanding Knowledge > 97 Expanding Knowledge > 970122 Expanding Knowledge in Philosophy and Religious Studies
Type of Activity: Pure Basic Research
Subjects: D - Canon Law
College/Association with University of Divinity: CTC: Catholic Theological College
Depositing User: Dr Suman Kashyap
Date Deposited: 26 Jul 2019 04:07
Last Modified: 26 Jul 2019 04:07
URI: http://repository.divinity.edu.au/id/eprint/3721

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item